Women’s World Cup 2022: Emma Lamb named in England squad, Heather Knight to lead

1 minute, 16 seconds Read

Women’s World Cup 2022: Emma Lamb named in England squad, Heather Knight to lead

England Women have announced their squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 in New Zealand.

Fifteen players have been chosen to try and retain the trophy that Heather Knight’s team lifted at Lord’s in 2017, alongside two travelling reserves.

England Women’s Squad

Heather Knight

Tammy Beaumont

Katherine Brunt

Freya Davies

Charlie Dean

Sophia Dunkley

Kate Cross

Sophie Ecclestone

Tash Farrant

Amy Jones

Emma Lamb

Nat Sciver

Anya Shrubsole

Lauren Winfield-Hill

Danni Wyatt

Travelling Reserves

Lauren Bell

Mady Villiers

Jonathan Finch, Director of England Women’s Cricket, said: “The ICC Women’s World Cup is a special event in the international women’s cricket calendar and we are excited by the squad we have selected.

“The chance to refocus our intentions immediately after the disappointment of the Ashes is exciting and provides an opportunity to embrace the challenge of a global event.

“The England Women’s A series that ran alongside the Ashes enabled a wider group of players to compete for a place in the squad which has made for some tough calls on selection.

“Emma Lamb, a consistent performer across domestic cricket, comes into the squad after making her international debut last summer and offers multiple options with the bat and as an all-rounder with her off-spin bowling.

“Success at World Cups is often the pinnacle of a player’s career and we wish all those selected all the best in their quest to win on the world stage.”

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *