On this day in 2018: India lifted record 4th U-19 World Cup title; WATCH

1 minute, 40 seconds Read

On this day in 2018: India lifted record 4th U-19 World Cup title;

Three years ago, on this day, India‘s young squad beat Australia by eight wickets at Bay Oval in Tauranga to win the ICC U-19 World Cup for the record fourth time.

The team lead by Prithvi Shaw was undefeated in the tournament, winning all six games. After a thrashing of arch-rivals Pakistan in the quarterfinal, the team stormed into the final. India overcame Pakistan by 203 runs to get to the final against Australia. India were helped by opener Manjot Kalra’s unbeaten 101 and wicketkeeper Harvik Desai’s unbeaten 47 in chasing a meagre score of 217. In 38.5 overs, India comfortably chased down the total.

India got off to a good start, with openers Prithvi Shaw and Ashish Kalra bowling some confident strokes. With Will Sutherland removing Indian skipper Shaw (29) and ending the 71-run partnership, Australia finally broke the opening stand.


Shubman Gill joined Kalra in the middle, and the pair added a half-century to Australia’s woes. The pair shared 70 runs for the second wicket. Shubman was struck by Param Uppal (31). The breakthrough gave the young Australians hope, as they displayed some intensity on the field. However, it was short-lived as India crossed the finish line thanks to another fifty-run stand between Kalra and Desai.

Earlier, Australia bowled out for 216 runs after winning the toss. Before India’s left-arm spin combination of Shiva Singh and Anukul Roy burst into action. Moreover, Jonathan Merlo made a good 76.

Australia appeared to be on track to score 250 in a high-pressure encounter when the Indian spinners orchestrated a collapse, with the Jason Sangha-led side losing its final six wickets for 33 runs.

Kalra named Man of the Match for his anchor knock. While Shubman Gill named Player of the Tournament for his outstanding efforts, which included setting a few records. In the tournament, he scored 373 runs.

Meanwhile, in the most recent edition of the competition. India has advanced to the final. They will face England on Saturday, headed by Yash Dhull.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *