IPL 2022: BCCI planning to host 15th edition of Indian premier League in Maharashtra;

1 minute, 35 seconds Read

IPL 2022: BCCI planning to host 15th edition of Indian premier League in Maharashtra;

BCCI is thinking of a change of venue, for IPL 2022 to India, but if the condition stays the same then BCCI will move out for the league, source told to The Times Of India.

If the source is right, then the upcoming IPL 2022 might be hosted in India’s Maharashtra, by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Due to the ongoing COVID-19 Pandemic. This might be their alternate plan for the upcoming 2022 Indian Premier League.

BCCI had problems staging the T20 league in the last two years. In spite of the point that the entire IPL 2020 season was held in the United Arab Emirates. The 2021 season has to be relocated out of India. Because of the plague of COVID-19 cases in the team camps.

Source also told Times of India, the BCCI plans to hold the IPL 2022 season. At 4 different venues: Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium, DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, and Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Gahunje, near Pune.

“Hemang Amin (BCCI’s interim CEO and the Chief Operating Officer of the IPL). Talked to Vijay Patil (Mumbai Cricket Association president) in this concern, on the sidelines of the MCA’s Apex Council meeting. Then, a few days later. Amin and Patil met Sharad Pawar at the NCP supremo’s residence’” sources told The Times of India.

“Pawar has given his green sign to the BCCI’s suggestion. Throughout this week or in the next 10 days, he, the BCCI and MCA officials will meet Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and state chief secretary Debashish Chakrabarty to place for the needed permission in this matter.

“There would be no problem on this front. As the Leauge will be played in a strict bio bubble. With no crowds, and the players and officials will be tested regularly,” sources told Times of India.

Similar Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *