IND vs WI: COVID-19 scare in India camp as Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer test positive, Mayank Agarwal added to squad;

1 minute, 36 seconds Read

IND vs WI: COVID-19 scare in India camp as Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer test positive, Mayank Agarwal added to squad;

IND vs WI: The All-India Senior Selection Committee has added Mayank Agarwal to India’s ODI squad after seven members, including three players of Team India tested positive for COVID-19 following three rounds of RT-PCR testing.

According to BCCI, the members were asked to report in Ahmedabad on 31st January 2022 for the upcoming three-match ODI and T20I series against the West Indies.

“Every member was also asked to undergo an RT-PCR test at home. Before embarking on their journey to Ahmedabad and the travel was undertaken only after testing negative,” BCCI said in a statement.

“Opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan and fast bowler Navdeep Saini’s (standby player) RT-PCR tests conducted on Monday (January 31st) have returned positive results,” it added.

Fielding Coach T. Dilip and Security Liaison Officer B. Lokesh’s RT-PCR tests conducted on Monday have also returned positive results.

Meanwhile, batter Ruturaj Gaikwad’s RT-PCR test conducted on Tuesday (February 1st) has returned a positive result. He had tested negative during the first round of testing on Monday.

Moreover, Shreyas Iyer and Sports Massage Therapist Rajeev Kumar’s RT-PCR tests conducted on Wednesday (February 2nd) have returned positive results. Both had tested negative in the first two rounds of testing, said BCCI.

“The BCCI Medical team is handling the positive cases. Therefore, they will remain in isolation till complete recovery is attained,” the board said.

Team India are set to play three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad from February 6 followed by the T20I series at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata from February 16.

West Indies tour of India, 2022
Sr. No. Day Date Match Venue
1 Sunday 6th February 1st ODI Ahmedabad
2 Wednesday 9th February 2nd ODI Ahmedabad
3 Friday 11th February 3rd ODI Ahmedabad
4 Wednesday 16th February 1st T20I Kolkata
5 Friday 18th February 2nd T20I Kolkata
6 Sunday 20th February 3rd T20I Kolkata

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *