Watch Video: Ben Stokes Survives Despite Ball Hitting Stump – A unusual incident occurred during the fourth Ashes Test match between Australia and England, which stunned the cricketing world. When Cameron Green’s delivery hit the stumps, the Australian players were stunned, but the bails did not dislodge and remained intact. Ben Stokes was given an extra life, but the Australian players couldn’t stop themselves from bumping the stumps.
On day three, Australia’s bowlers controlled the rain-affected first session, in which England lost four wickets and Scott Boland continued to worry the visitors.
Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow batted through the middle session after lunch to take the game to Australia, but they were still 281 runs behind Australia’s first innings declaration of 416 for eight at tea.
In England’s 135 for four, Stokes was unbeaten on 52 and Bairstow was not out on 45 at the break.
On 16, Stokes was given out, only to win a review after replays revealed that a Cameron Green delivery had really hit the off-stump, but the bail was not dislodged, much to his relief.
The Australian players believed it was an LBW and appealed. Stokes was called out by the umpire, who chose to take the review, and the result stunned everyone in the stands. While watching the replay on the large screen, Stokes laughed.
UNBELIEVABLE #Ashes pic.twitter.com/yBhF8xspg1
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) January 7, 2022
Shane Warne, who was in the commentary box at the time of the event, was taken aback by the umpire’s finger raising.
On what is he handing it out? “How odd was that?” According to Warne, “It hit the stumps, and Paul Reiffel, a bowler, saw it and said, ‘You’re out.’
Interesting point & one to debate my friend. I will take this to the world cricket committee for discussion & come back to you. Never seen anything like that today – Greene’s delivery was 142kph and hit the stump hard !!!!! 😩😂 https://t.co/GO6IeHgtsk
— Shane Warne (@ShaneWarne) January 7, 2022
“For the ball striking the stumps and the bails not coming off, that’s one of the strangest things I’ve seen given out… I’m sorry, but I’m still reeling from the news. “I’m still baffled by what we just witnessed.”
Sachin Tendulkar, the greatest batsman of all time, also rushed to Twitter to suggest that a law named “hitting the stumps” should be implemented.
Should a law be introduced called ‘hitting the stumps’ after the ball has hit them but not dislodged the bails? What do you think guys? Let’s be fair to bowlers! 😜😬😋@shanewarne#AshesTestpic.twitter.com/gSH2atTGRe
— Sachin Tendulkar (@sachin_rt) January 7, 2022
“Should a law called ‘hitting the stumps’ be enacted after the ball hits them but does not dislodge the bails? What are your thoughts, guys? Let’s treat bowlers fairly! “@shanewarne,” he wrote on Twitter.
When you’re confident about your off stump and your off stump is confident about you 😜#Ashes pic.twitter.com/KRfRVYI84x
— DK (@DineshKarthik) January 7, 2022